Remembrance of William Robertson Davies – 28, August 1913 – 2, December 1995.

The Deptford Trilogy.The Deptford Trilogy – Robertson Davies

Fifth Business.
The Manticore.
World of Wonders.

From the first page of the first book in the trilogy:

My lifelong involvement with Mrs. Dempster began at 8 o’clock p.m. on the 27th of December, 1908, at which time I was ten years and seven months old.
…………I had a boy’s sense of when a snowball was coming, and I knew Percy. I was sure that he would try to land one last, insulting snowball between my shoulders before I ducked into our house. I stepped briskly – not running, but not dawdling – in front of the Dempsters just as Percy threw, and the snowball hit Mrs. Dempster on the back of the head. She gave a cry and, clinging to her husband, slipped to the ground; he might have caught her if he had not turned at once to see who had thrown the snowball.

The consequences of this simple act of throwing a snowball, had a profound effect on the lives of several of the books characters. Culminating in the disclosure of a secret which has twisted its way through all three books; especially as the snowball had enclosed a hidden stone.

William Robertson Davies:
A playwright, critic, journalist, and professor who died on this day in 1995 aged 82;  having received during his lifetime honorary degrees from 26 American, Canadian, and British universities.

“Be sure you choose what you believe and know why you believe it, because if you don’t choose your beliefs, you may be certain that some belief, and probably not a very credible one, will choose you.” ~ Robertson Davies.

“Money, it is often said, does not bring happiness; it must be added, however, that it makes it possible to support unhappiness with exemplary fortitude.” ~ Robertson Davies.


4 thoughts on “Remembrance of William Robertson Davies – 28, August 1913 – 2, December 1995.

  1. I have read most of his books, and several of them more than once. Nice to be reminded of them. It is hard to believe it was 20 years ago that he died.

  2. The only Robertson Davies I have read was the Cornish Trilogy (twice). He was remarkable, for his time, for any time. Thanks for the reminder that great books are still out there, waiting to be read.

    1. My first introduction was ‘The Salterton Trilogy’ and I was hooked. It was then a case of finding and reading as many of his books as I could get hold of.
      Long before E-Book readers, although that is what I am using at the moment; I have enough books in UK without doubling up here in Oman. I do get tempted when I find Folio Society copies though. 🙂

      Others authors that I have enjoyed and are now loaded on my E-Book and waiting for a re-read are:

      The Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz.
      The Alexandria Quartet by Lawrence Durrell.
      The Magus by John Fowles.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s